Log in or Register for enhanced features | Forgotten Password?
White Papers | Suppliers | Events | Report Store | Companies | Dining Club | Videos

Power Generation
Fossil Fuel
Return to: EBR Home | Power Generation | Fossil Fuel

India’s Bhel begins commercial operations of 800MW unit at Yeramarus power plant

EBR Staff Writer Published 16 March 2017

India’s state-owned engineering company Bharat Heavy Electricals (Bhel) has commenced commercial operations of its first 800MW unit at the 2x800MW Yeramarus thermal power station located in Raichur district of Karnataka.

Bhel said that the move marks its foray into the field of power generation as a project developer.

The Yeramarus power plant is being developed by Raichur Power Corporation (RPCL), a joint venture of Karnataka Power (KPCL) and Bhel.

Bhel's scope of work includes complete design, engineering, manufacture, supply, erection and commissioning of the supercritical project on turnkey basis.

In addition to delivering the critical equipment including boiler, turbine & generators, electricals, key packages of Balance of Plant, the firm carried out the associated civil works.

The company manufactured the key equipment for the project at its facilities in Haridwar, Bhopal, Ranipet, Hyderabad, Jhansi, Thirumayam and Bengaluru.

Additionally, the plant's construction work has been undertaken by the company's Power Sector- Southern Region.

Till date, Bhel has commissioned 4,010MW of coal-based sets for KPCL & its joint ventures.

The company is currently executing first gas-based combined cycle power project with 370MW capacity for KPCL. The project features fuel-efficient advanced-class gas turbine at Yelahanka.

In January, Bhel commissioned the second 500MW thermal unit at Sagardighi Thermal Power Station (TPS) Phase II project in Murshidabad district of West Bengal.

The first unit of the 1,000MW project was commissioned earlier in December 2015 for the state-owned West Bengal Power Development Corporation (WBPDCL).

Bhel has secured orders for a total of 48 supercritical Steam Generators (SG) and 41 supercritical Steam turbine generators (STG).